The Professor Powell and Larry Moats Extra Five Minutes Faculty Award was created in 2012 by Larry Moats, a former member of the Harper College Board of Trustees and a Harper College Distinguished Alumni Award honoree, in memory of his Harper College mentor, Professor Robert Powell. Professor Powell was a founding faculty member of Harper College and a beloved English teacher and Dean of Liberal Arts. Harper students are asked to submit nominations to recognize teachers who have inspired them, given them extra time, and made a different in their lives.

Dr. Rita Gura, PT, DPT, Program Coordinator/Assistant Professor, Physical Therapist Assistant Program, is the 2022 award recipient. The Student Government Association chose Dr. Gura for her dedication that has gone beyond an instructor’s expectations. Multiple students shared their gratitude for Dr. Gura, stating that “her dedication to students’ learning is highlighted through her willingness to alter her curriculum to provide a simulated clinic during the Pandemic and by taking the time to address individual students’ learning needs. She ensures a welcoming classroom environment and is available for her students outside of the classroom setting.”

Congratulations, Dr. Gura, for being recognized by your students for the impact you are making in their lives.